Green Smoothie and Juicing Grocery Haul

Posted on September 9, 2012

8



I had so much fun with my first grocery haul, I’m back at it again today. This time I am focusing on what I purchase for my green smoothies and juices. I’m on Day 2 of another feast. For reference, I own a Blendtec blender and a Breville Juice Fountain Elite.

This haul is a partial one. I already had some staples on hand: 5lb bag of carrots, 3-3lb bags of apples, 3-3lb bags of beets, 1 celery stalk, 1 bunch of cilantro. D is participating in the feast but not going 100% so with the staples above plus the items below, I should be good until Thursday.

Onto the goods! Unless otherwise stated, all items are organic.

Rainbow Chard and Kale – Perfect additions to a juice or green smoothie. I wash them thoroughly and do not cut off the stems. The Swiss chard is milder in taste than the kale.

I blend green onions, celery, tomatoes, garlic, cilantro and lime to make a green smoothie that I eat with a spoon to make it seem more like a traditional meal. Zucchinis are great! They lighten up any smoothie or juice because of their high water content. They can be used interchangeably with cucumbers. . . especially when said cucumbers are $1.29 each!

Srawberries and mango for green smoothies. I don’t juice them because they come out like soft serve ice cream.

Baby romaine and spinach – I only use these in green smoothies. Centrifugal juicers do not handle baby lettuce well.

Grape tomatoes for green smoothies

Conventional limes and ginger. I use them in both green smoothies and juices. Sooo delicious!

Valencia oranges – the perfect juicing orange and they must be organic! I’ve tried conventional valenica oranges before but they don’t have as much juice as their organic counterparts.

Conventional watermelon – for juicing and green smoothies. I intend to juice this one with fennel, lime and ginger – can’t wait!

Now I’m off to whip up something to eat. . . er. . . drink 🙂

How often do you grocery shop?

– Kareen, MPH, RD

_______________________________________________________________________________________

All content, including text and photography copyright © Kareen EatingRight 2009-2012, unless otherwise stated. All rights reserved. Ask first to use original text, photography, graphics, images, and scripts contained here. All information presented and contained within is based on my own knowledge, thoughts, opinions, and personal experiences. No information or products presented are meant to diagnose, treat or replace professional medical advice.

