Juice Feast Wrap-up – Part I

Posted on May 28, 2012

8



This past week marked one month since we ended our 60 day juice feast. What a great time for a wrap-up!

Weight gain

D and I have been hovering between 5 and 8 lbs weight gain. We’re fine with this outcome and ready to blast off the remaining pounds to our respective goals.

Exercise

This is the area we’re both most excited about. We’ve continued with our walks and have increased the amount we run. I’m looking for a  fun local 5k race to work towards. We’ve gone back to hiking and even dabbled in trail running. What a high!! I started Insanity a couple of weeks of ago but only got to day 2. Womp. Womp. Our apartment is super tiny so navigating space and time when I’m not interrupting D was been harder than I anticipated. He’s accommodating but I don’t necessarily like working out right in front of him, literally. For now, I’m putting Insanity on hold and heading into the gym. We’re going back to weights, traditional cardio and racquetball!

D is searching for a road bike. I have one collecting dust on our patio. We used to bike regularly when we lived in Toronto but once we moved to California the habit fell off. I am looking forward to starting up again.

Digestive System

D is fine. He’s had no issues with returning to solid food. He never had any issues with bowel movements during the feast and it’s no different after. I, on the other hand, have had challenges stemming from irritable bowel syndrome (IBS) and candida die-off from my time on the Arise and Shine cleanse during the last week of the feast. I’m pretty sure that destabilized my system which clearly was in distress leading to Herxheimer Reactions. I’ve always had an issue with candida overgrowth so this isn’t new nor are the reactions during a cleanse.

During the feast, I was fine. No bloating, nausea or constipation – all symptoms I was well acquainted with before I began juicing. The first week after finishing, I was fine in all aspects. I hit a road block after making and enjoying a raw lasagna for a church function. It was a hit but left me with nausea that I haven’t been able to shake UNLESS I’m following a lower fat raw plant-based whole food diet with some cooked grains like quinoa and wild rice. I tried the anti-candida diet but it’s so restrictive if you’re not a meat eater and it’s counter-intuitive to me to avoid fruit when I wasn’t experiencing nausea when juicing.

After additional research, I decided to reduce my fat intake and return to fruits and all vegetables. I still incorporate avocado every day so I’m not a strict low fat but this plan is working for me. Unfortunately, corn is one of the trigger foods I’ve identified so I’m avoiding it. I’ve ventured into higher fat foods like fries or even healthier cooked foods like corn-free tortilla chips and each time I’ve paid the price. It’s not a nausea that passes but remains the entire day even if I get back on track with my plan. Nausea sucks.

And no, I’m not pregnant.

The nausea and bloating have been the only symptoms to return in spades. I’ve been so regular that I wondered if something was wrong but realized this is how it should be – three to four times daily. That makes me happy.

What I’m Eating

I’m not perfect so there are times when I have an egg salad sandwich, cookies or even fries but those incidents are rare because the consequences are so unfriendly. The good thing is that I really do enjoy eating my fill of vegetables, fruits, nuts and seeds. Salads are my favourite and while that may seem boring, there are endless combinations and of course, yummy homemade dressing doesn’t hurt!

I will discuss what I learned during the feast in Part II later this week.

– Kareen, RD

_________________________________________________________________________________

All content, including text and photography copyright © Kareen EatingRight 2009-2012, unless otherwise stated. All rights reserved. Ask first to use original text, photography, graphics, images, and scripts contained here. All information presented and contained within is based on my own knowledge, thoughts, opinions, and personal experiences. No information or products presented are meant to diagnose, treat or replace professional medical advice.

Tagged: ,