#HAWMC Day 23 – So, What Did I Eat?

Posted on April 23, 2012

1



Today’s Prompt: Write about whatever you like.

Our second free writing day and this time I’m not at a loss for words! What a great coincidence that this day falls on the first day that D and I are eating. This post is picture heavy and I hope you enjoy.

First, I didn’t exactly follow the eating plan I laid out here but it was still a great day.

We started off at 3:00 AM today with this treat

Corn & Tomato Salad with 1/2 cup frozen corn (thawed under warm water), 1/2 of one avocado, 1 chopped scallion, 2 finely chopped garlic cloves, 1 cup cherry tomatoes sliced in half, 1/8 tsp chipotle crushed pepper (not raw), 1/8 tsp African Smoke seasoning (not raw)

After 60 days of beautiful, pure liquid nutrition, the first bite of the salad was so divine. I filled up fast and that was the theme of the day. My stomach is definitely smaller.

So, we didn’t wake-up early just to eat but instead we went on a wild adventure to a place we’ve planning to visit since last September!

Los Angeles Wholesale Produce Market (LAWPM)!

There aren’t really words to express this experience. From midnight to 8:00 AM or later freshly delivered produce is available wholesale for grocery stores, restaurants, hospitals and other types of food operations. Fortunately it is also open to the public except that you must be willing to buy by the case and pay by cash. Some vendors did accept credit card but they were very few in number.

We arrived at 4:30 AM ready to shop, shop, shop. Well, it was more look, look and look some more. Our list was limited to romaine lettuce and avocados due to space but we had a lot of fun planning for our next trip 🙂

Avos!

Passion Fruit - I swooned when I saw these but next time

Beautiful eggplant - I hadn't seen the white variety until today!

Good bye LAWPM!

We purchased our case of romaine and avos but I”ll show you those later. Next, we were off to Cafe Gratitude! We’ve been looking forward to this cooked vegan meal for ages! If you remember we visited this restaurant in Santa Cruz, CA so we were excited to visit our local one. We were not disappointed. Yumminess in my belly 🙂

Grilled polenta with fresh puttanesca sauce & spinach topped with cashew ricotta & Brazil nut parmesan

 We finished around 11:00 AM and we were tired. After a quick stop by the Fashion District to check out fabric for a sofa re-upholstery project and then we were on our way home. Once back at home, I quickly removed our goods from the boxes and sent them to recycling. Don’t want any critters setting up shop in our home.

Here’s what we bought!

Soaking the avos in water and white vinegar. A 60 count case cost $17 - that's $0.28 per each!

46 heads of lettuce for $14 - that's just $0.37 per each bunch! I didn't wash these but instead placed a couple each in produce and ziplock bags.

I am changing my post-feast diet plan due to the cleansing reactions I experienced. I’m in the planning stage and it will still be high raw but the next few days won’t look like the ones I posted. I’ll be sure to share.

Have an excellent evening!

– Kareen, RD

