#HAWMC Day 15 – What’s My Writing Style?

Posted on April 15, 2012

0



Good morning! I’m so happy to wake-up to a sunny day and we’re heading out for a hike soon but I wanted to get this post up before the day gets rolling.

Today’s Prompt: What’s your writing style? Do words just flow from your mind to your fingertips? Do you like handwriting first? Do you plan your posts? Title first or last? Where do you write best?

My writing style is straight forward with some attempts at humor (or at least trying to get a smile)! For example, yesterday’s post discusses my dream day. When I read other health activist posts on the topic, most bloggers chose to write a narrative. I wrote a list. That’s how my brain functions. Personality tests, work-style tests, etc. reveal that I fall strongly into the analytical category and tend to see the world in black and white. I agree. Today I’m fighting the urge to simply answer the prompt questions in bullet form and hitting “publish” 🙂 That’s why I enjoy blogging – it helps me exercise the creative part of my mind. Some days I do see color in the world.

I used to hand write all of my posts but now, as the prompt states, words just flow from my mind to my fingertips. I try to edit my posts before publishing but sometimes that’s a tedious task because I make a lot of edits. I spend probably just as much time editing as I do writing. That was one of the benefits of hand writing first because the editing would happen while I was typing. I found, however, that I would have several posts on paper that I never had/made time to transcribe onto the computer. I will admit that my excuses for not blogging regularly are quickly flying out the window with each day that this 30 day challenge continues 🙂 I’m learning that I don’t have to write novel every post. It’s okay to post a pic, a list, five lines or even one word.

As I’m sure you can guess, my post ideas are planned and listed. The problem has been execution but I’m hoping to continue this trend of writing daily once this challenge is done. I write my title first and then ALWAYS change it after my post is done. The title helps start the writing process but I always venture off course by the end so I change my title and not the post. My favourite place to write is the kitchen table. I’ve never liked working at a desk EXCEPT for a beautiful dark wood desk that now lives in my parents’ basement (very similar to the one pictured in this post but nicer, of course :)). It was like a kitchen table in my first apartment almost ten years ago and it was a gift from my boyfriend now husband. I loved it.

What is your writing style? Are you a planner or  freestyler?

– Kareen, RD

Posted in: high raw, nutrition, raw, vegan