#HAWMC Day 5 – A Picture’s Worth a Thousand Words

Posted on April 5, 2012

2



Today’s Prompt – Go to flickr.com/explore and write a post inspired by the image. Can you link it to your health focus? Don’t forget to post the image!

I’m writing about an image but it’s of me and not from flickr – – hey, I told you yesterday that I like to write about myself!

Seriously, I was going through pictures tonight and ran across this one and it made me think about the importance of trying new things.

Last summer D and I visited one of the Santa Monica Farmer’s Market. As we were leaving, we passed an heirloom tomato booth and D tried a sample. He was so blown away by the taste he insisted I try. I’ve mentioned my extreme dislike of tomatoes…as early as I can remember. I don’t even like chunky salsa. My first response was ‘no’ but I couldn’t resist seeing his continued delight as he tried more varieties.

So I tried a Brandywine sample. . .

And if this picture seems to indicate that I didn’t like it. The picture is accurate. That first taste almost got my gag reflex going but then my taste buds actually sensed something and it was pleasant. We purchased a couple of them along with the Cherokee variety. D made a delicious tomato salad with cilantro, basil, garlic and olive oil which I loved but I haven’t really eaten tomatoes since then.

It was an overwhelming experience but I’m so glad I tried a new food. We’re on day 43 of our juice and green smoothie fast and all I can think about are tomatoes. It’s a serious craving. The first day back to solid food will, MUST,  include that Brandywine and Cherokee tomato salad (without the olive oil). I can’t wait 🙂

Don’t be afraid to try new experiences – especially new fresh foods!  They may not be to your liking at first but your brain recognizes the attempt and who knows where that will lead.

What new foods or other adventures have you tried lately?

– Kareen, RD

