#HAWMC Day 2 – Select a Quote that Inspires You

Posted on April 2, 2012

3



Today’s prompt: Find a quote that inspires you (either positively or negatively) and free write about it for 15 minutes.

I had all these inspiring and motivating quotes lined up but then I watched the 60 Minutes clip “Is Sugar Toxic” with Dr. Sanjay Gupta featuring Dr. Robert H. Lustig last night and then again tonight. It was during my second viewing that I selected the quote that positively inspires me:

Dr. Gupta: “Is sugar toxic?”

Dr. Lustig: “Yes, I believe it is”

Dr. Lustig is probably most well-known for the University of California San Francisco video “Sugar: The Bitter Truth.” That’s the only venue I’ve heard him speak so it was a pleasant surprise to see him being interviewed in main stream media. After years of sounding the warning against added sugar to foods and its effects on cardiovascular disease, cancer, diabetes and obesity, research institutions are beginning to listen and conduct studies on this topic.

Since seeing the original Youtube video, I’ve created assignments based on it so that my students would be exposed to the information. I share the video every few months on my Facebook page and I’ve written about it. And it will be a part of a program I am creating for cardiac rehab patients. Everyone deserves an opportunity to receive knowledge and then make decisions based on the whole picture.

The quote I selected starts a conversation that needs to happen not just about sugar but in general how our food is grown and manufactured (pink slime anyone?). What role do we, the consumers, play in the process? I try to do my part by focusing on a plant-based whole food diet. On a side note, today is Day 40 of my husband’s and my juice and green smoothie feast. wOOt! wOOt! We’re feeling so great!

Check out the 60 Minute vid and Youtube vid and let me know what you think.

Let’s keep this conversation going.

– Kareen, RD

