It’s Health Activist Writer’s Month!

Posted on April 1, 2012

0



April is WEGO Health’s Health Activist Writer’s Month Challenge (HAWMC) and I’m participating. This IS truly a challenge for me as I’m not someone who posts regularly, let alone daily, despite my best intentions. For the month April, however, I am committing to do just that. Per the challenge rules, I am allowed two missed days but my goal is not to use them. I am also going to use this time to document the last 23 days of my 60 day juice and green smoothie feast.

WEGO provided daily prompts to get our creative writing juices flowing and today’s is “Health Time Capsule. Pretend you’re making a time capsule of you & your health focus that won’t be opened until 2112. What’s in it? What would people think of it when they found it?

In 2112, they would find my story; pictures of me and my husband after our transformation, from my pop-up/catering raw vegan events, my travels around the world and my mission work; and copies of the books I will have written.

Here’s (an abbreviated version of) my story:

Looking back, my focus on health has been frenetic. I’ve gone back and forth between health philosophies but in my mid-twenties I firmly landed on the benefits of a plant-based whole food diet which led me to pursue a Master’s in Public Health Nutrition and then later to become a Registered Dietitian. I wanted to share the details of this delicious and healthful way of eating.

I’ve stumbled and managed to gain 50 lbs in the past seven years. Not a great advocate for health, huh?

In 2010 I discovered raw vegan and my world was RAWked 🙂 It’s been two years and I’m just as passionate about eating from the abundance of the earth in it’s most natural form. My irritable bowel syndrome (IBS) has been controlled since that time with the only flare-ups occurring when my diet strayed to heavy processed foods. Those straying moments were too frequent for my liking and I needed to do something to make a lasting change in my mind.

Enter juicing and green smoothies.

In August 2011, I embarked on my first 10 day feast using green smoothies only using a conventional blender. I lost 9 lbs and could sense a change in my view towards food. My husband and I purchased a Blendtec and Breville Juice Fountain Elite. He then joined me on the next three 10-day rotations. We are currently on day 39 of a 60 day juice feast. I’ve passed the 30 lb milestone and my husband 40 lbs. There’s more to go but both of our palates have changed and we’re excited to start our active and high raw vegan lives on April 24th.

I’m still writing my story but I know the ending and it sees me fit, healthy and sharing my passion for this lifestyle nationally and worldwide. In 100 years when people open my time capsule they’ll wonder what all the fuss was about promoting a diet high in unprocessed, raw foods – it’ll be second nature to them.

What would your time capsule say about your health focus?

– Kareen, RD

