Halfway Point – 30 Day Juice/Green Smoothie Feast Wrap-Up!

Posted on March 25, 2012

1



On February 23, 2012 my husband and I started what was supposed to be a 10-day green smoothie and juice feast. It was to be my 5th and D’s 4th. On day 2, D called me at work and said he was ready to move forward with a full 60 day feast. Now, I’ve wanted to do an extended feast but I was thinking in the range of 21 days. So I hesitated but quickly bounced back and if D was ready, then so was I.

Friday March 23 marked 30 days!

On day 12, 30 seemed like a lifetime away but now that we’re passed it, day 60 feels like it’s right around the corner. Well, almost anyway. Here’s a quick overview of my experience so far.

Cleansing Reactions

My reactions have been mild but consistent. Most prominent among them have been the acne on my forehead, my skin itching and mucus build-up. That’s the pleasant picture of a feast.

Bowel Movements, Energy, etc.

My bowel movements have been consistent and propping has helped. I have not experienced an IBS symptoms at all. That’s such a relief! My energy levels are high. I’m focused at both of my jobs and have also received compliments that my “mentation is clearer.” I’ll  take that 🙂

My hair appears to be shinier and growing faster. Other than the acne on my forehead, my skin is responding well to the feast. I’ve received so many compliments that I’m glowing. I’ll also take that 🙂

Cravings

I’m craving savoury, salty foods. I don’t think my cravings are any more intense than usual. I’m just used to giving in to them at my whim. Not eating has increased my awareness of the onslaught of food media we encounter everyday. You can’t drive for one city block without seeing or smelling Little Caesar’s or McDonald’s or the local restaurants we’ve come to enjoy in our area. That doesn’t even address the commercials on television and we don’t even OWN a t.v. Hulu is inundated with food ads which is why SPAM seems like a good addition to a meal to me right now 🙂 I’m not bashing the free market but it’s hard not to question the relationship between the constant barrage encouraging us to eat and the country’s obesity epidemic.

Weight Loss

Contrary to popular belief, the weight doesn’t fall off for everyone. My average weight loss has been 3lbs a week. Last week I dropped a whopping 5 lbs which was so surprising. Truthfully I felt tired on Thursday and Friday but now I know why. My energy levels returned to normal today. In 30 days I have lost 14 lbs. Some people drop 14 lbs in 10 days and that’s okay with me. This feast is about more than weight loss.

I’m more cognizant of my triggers and my palate is changing. I can’t wait to sink my teeth into a chopped tomato salad. Anyone who has known me for more than one year, knows that I hate tomatoes and that I’ve hated them my entire life. They make me gag. I started to hesitatingly include them in some of my raw mango salads last fall but it was truly sparingly. Also, sometimes I would leave the bulk of them for D to eat. And now, they’re all I can think about (in addition to salt!). That’s how I know this feast is working.

I’m changing.

Really changing.

– Kareen, RD

p.s. join me on Facebook for regular updates on our journey. I also post pics and recipe details of the juices and green smoothies we’re enjoying.

