More Yummy Raw Vegan Eats

Posted on February 11, 2012

5



I’ve really been enJOYing eating these past couple of weeks. I’ve been menu planning, buying groceries based on the plan and then using all of my produce purchases BEFORE they spoil. That’s a major accomplishment for me!

So here’s a highlight of my favourite eats! I’ve been focusing on sauces, salad toppers, etc. so I can easily put meals together in the evenings. Between my day job and teaching, I’m finding my time scarce. This approach has worked well so far.

Here’s are the sauces:

Raw Vegan Mayo from The Rawtarian. This one is rich but delicious! I used it on my romaine lettuce boats (see below).

I also made Laura-Jane’s Mac & Cheese recipe but I forgot to snap a shot of it. I enjoyed it with kelp noodles and also as a salad dressing.

Kelp Noodles - raw vegan, neutral taste and great alternative to pasta.

Back to sauces. . .

Raw Vegan Pad Thai Sauce from Ani Phyo. Yummers!

Raw Pad Thai using kelp noodles. Top with veggies for a complete meal.

The one topper I made (several batches!!) was raw taco meat using walnuts. This recipe is addictively delicious!

Another The Rawtarian creation. I topped salads, kelp noodles, romaine boats with this treat. D used it on pasta, rice and beans. It's perfect for the raw and non-raw!

Beautiful romaine boats using the raw taco meat and mayo. Topped with shredded cabbage and carrots. Makes for a filling meal!

I also tried a fruit salad/salsa recipe which I will be making again & again.

Spicy Tropical Jicama Salsa from the Renegade Health Show website

And last but not least, there were green juices and smoothies. I ventured out of my comfort zone and included way more veggies than usual. The results? Superb, of course 🙂

Collard greens, romaine, golden beets, pineapple, oranges, green apples

Zucchini, red apples, red beets, cilantro, romaine & ginger (not pictured)

That’s the end of the post & that’s a good thing because I’m getting hungry!

What new foods or food combinations have you tried recently?

– Kareen, RD

