Irish Moss & Almond Milk

Posted on January 16, 2012

3



Happy Belated New Year! I hope 2012 is treating you fairly thus far. The first two weeks have been busy for me – I started teaching two online college nutrition courses. I’ve taught the classes live before but online is such a different medium that the prep work threw me for a loop. I’m caught up now (and I’m even ahead!) so it’s back to my usual once weekly blogging schedule.

Back to Irish moss and almond milk.

I’ve been wanting to purchase Irish moss for some time now to use in recipes but it’s difficult to find. Saturday evening my husband took a field trip to Whole Foods and purchased some for me! He’s super thoughtful. I worked this weekend so I wasn’t part of this adventure šŸ˜¦

As you can read, Irish moss is vegan, raw and a natural thickener. It’s also known asĀ carrageen moss and is rich in iron and sulfur. Its most popular use is in beer brewing – who knew?! Rest assured, there’s no beer brewing here!

In the food community (and yes, I don’t consider beer a food), the moss is used in sauces, desserts, etc without changing the flavor profile. It can also be a key ingredient in homemade beauty products. From a calorie standpoint, 0.92 oz is 90 calories. You’re unlikely to use this full amount in one recipe so the effect on total calories is very small. It’s a great thickening alternative to nuts – an ingredient that can sometimes be overused in the gourmet raw food community.

Here’s a closer look. You can see it’s covered in sand and dirt.

Tonight I used it in a high raw vegan mayonnaise recipe (that’s another post). Of course, I found a youtube vid on how to prepare Irish moss. I weighed out 0.5 oz and then ran cold over the moss. As you can see in the above pictures, you need to be thorough in this step. Next, I covered it with 2 cups of warm water and let it stand for 20 minutes. Well, it was probably closer to 30 minutes.

After, I poured the entire contents into the Blendtec and whirled away. I ended up with 2 cups of liquid which I placed, partially covered, in the fridge. Within one hour, I had gel! It can remain in the fridge for one week.

In other exciting news, I made almond milk for the first time! I blended 1.5 cups almonds with 4 cups of water and then strained it through a cheese cloth. I didn’t add a sweetener so that I can use the milk in both savoury and sweet dishes.

It’s been a productive evening and I’m ready for bed!

– Kareen, RD

Posted in: high raw, nutrition, raw, vegan