Congrats to me – 20 lbs down!

Posted on December 4, 2011

3



On November 17th, I weighed in at 152lbs marking a 20lb loss since August. It’s been just over two weeks and I’m maintaining – I’m happy for that. With Thanksgiving and less physical activity, I didn’t do any damage 🙂

When I saw the 152 on the scale, I whooped it up and my hubby came running to celebrate. He knew the milestone was right around the corner. As I’ve been on cloud nine, the irony struck me how upset I was when I reached 152 on my way up to my all-time high of 172. Now that I’m on my way down, that number is so sweet! BUT I’m just visiting the 150s until I get down to my goal weight.

This journey is still on!

I have been trying to lose weight for a while, as you know from reading this blog. My rock bottom was seeing my weight above 170 and receiving this fun t-shirt for my birthday in July from a co-worker.

At L.A. Farmer's Market

I was shocked that it was an extra large and even more shocked when it fit AND even more shocked that people saw me as an extra large. Even though I knew my weight gain was out of control, I felt like I was hiding it well. Joke’s on me. Ha!

So I decided to take control by returning to a high raw diet. I lost a couple of pounds before deciding to embark on a juicing and green smoothie feast in mid-August. I lost 9 lbs in 10 days. I would like to say that once the 10 days were done, I kept up with clean eating. That would be a lie. What surprised me is that the weight stayed off even though my eating returned to the atrocious. I wised up a little, started exercising and lost a couple more pounds.

Mid-October, D and I purchased a Blendtec with a Wildside carafe and also a Breville Elite Fountain Juicer. What a better way to celebrate than another juicing and green smoothie feast?! We embarked on a 60 day journey but decided to end after 11 days so that we could attend Healthy Taste of LA and partake in delicious whole food plant based meals.

After one week, we returned for another 10 days. It was during this last stretch that I reached 20 lbs lost. My goal is to reach 60 days of feasting but in 10 day increments which means I have three more feasts to complete. Aside from weight loss, the other benefit is that my palate is changing and it is easier to maintain a very high raw diet between each feast.

This is my lifestyle and I’m not letting go.

– Kareen, RD

