Shin Splints and Burning Arches

Posted on June 27, 2011

4


I purchased my current pair of running shoes about 3 years ago and it shows.

The general consensus is that running shoes should be replaced approximately every 300 to 500 miles. Since I wasn’t running outdoors, I didn’t think about the miles I put on the treadmill, elliptical, aerobics classes, home DVDs, walking .  .  . you get the idea.

I started to feel the burning arches when I first started Crossfit during jumping jacks but attributed it muscle fatigue. The discomfort has only increased to pain and this past week during a 2 mile run (yay me!) the shin splints started. It finally dawned on me that part of the problem could be my shoes.

Today I went to a running store to get fitted. I’m still a slight overpronator and ended up with the same shoes I’ve purchased the past two times: Nike Structure Triax. Why mess with a good thing? My only complaint is the colour. I kinda wanted something flashier this time around but I know – safety before fashion.

Here they are

I’m looking forward to seeing how the new kicks help improve my performance this week!

– kareen

