Thanks Dad!

Posted on June 19, 2011

4


I take after my dad in my body type. I prone to obesity and also prone to rapid muscle gain. Not too cool when you’re a girl trying get that long lean look especially at 5’1″. I’ve spent years focusing on cardio for weight loss so I wouldn’t look thick and then I would get frustrated when the weight loss was accompanied by flabby arms! Even with that, I continued to avoid weights or lifting heavy.

A couple of weeks ago, I started Crossfit and getting out of the traditional gym was the change I needed to begin to embrace my physical self. This past week, my strengths were applauded and that couldn’t have happened without the body I inherited from my dad.

I have never front squatted before yet I was able to max out at 125 lbs. It’s been at least 2.5 years and a 30 lb weight gain since I’ve done a deadlift and yet I was more than comfortable at 105 lbs. I grinned when my Crossfit coach said “we love strong women!” When the other Crossfitters also joined in on the praise, all I could reply was “I get it from my dad.”
I grew up watching him run 5k and 10k races; riding his bike and even today, after being sidelined with knee injuries years ago, he goes to the gym faithfully and loves spin class. He still struggles with weight as I do but his signature ‘diesel’ legs are still. . .well. . .diesel! Those are my genetics and until this past week, I was never truly thankful for or proud of that legacy. Yes, I will never have “thin” legs and arms but they will be muscular. And for that I can’t wait!

So, thanks Dad. Happy Father’s Day. I love you.

– Kareen, RD

All content, including text and photography copyright © Kareen EatingRight 2009-2011, unless otherwise stated.
All rights reserved. Ask first to use original text, photography, graphics, images, and scripts contained here.
All information presented and contained within is based on my own knowledge, thoughts, opinions, and personal
experiences. No information or products presented are meant to diagnose, treat or replace professional medical
advice.

Posted in: crossfit, weight loss